Come away with me…the best is yet to be….

I’ve been on a music listening spree lately….anything soft and lovely I find myself totally immersed in. Norah Jones and Fiona Apple are my favorites right now. What makes music so attractive to us? Is it the background noise, the voices of the singers, or the lyrics. To me it’s a combination of all of those but I find myself most drawn to the lyrics. Take Norah Jones Come Away with Me, there is a line from that song that just makes me sigh and know that love is possible.

And I want to wake up with the rain
Falling on a tin roof
While I’m safe there in your arms
So all I ask is for you
To come away with me in the night
Come away with me…..

It’s such a romantic song and the lyrics really make you think about the person that you love or maybe even just about the possibility of a love so great that you feel protected in their arms during a rainstorm. While listening to this song it’s almost possible to feel a man’s arms around you strong and enveloping. Then of course there’s the rain….you can here it’s distinctive drip drop on the tin roof. When I hear this song I think of David…of future possibilities. Of that sweet kiss that we shared and how I hope it happens again. This song seems to make anything all your troubles just melt away by giving the hope that great things are on the way, you just have to wait out the rainstorm safely in your lovers arms.

Leave a Reply

