Life is like a box of chocolates….

Yesterday was stressful to say the least. I woke up early to get ready to go to my grandparents for the ride up to the hospital for my Grandmother’s surgery.  My Grandma had to have a torn ligament taken out of her knee and I didn’t want my Grandpa to have to sit at the hospital by himself waiting. Needless to say I was a nervous wreck. As the body gets older it tolerates general anesthetic less and less so I was worried my Grandma would be very ill when she woke up. Luckily the doctor gave her some very strong anti-nausea medication so she was fine. As I sat up at the hospital it suddenly occurred to me that my grandparents have been together for 53 years. My Grandma refused to take off her ring because she never has in those 53 years they have been married. When I think about my grandparents being younger I wonder if they knew what they future would bring them. Surely they did not expect  having 6 girls and never having a son. I cannot even imagine the disappointment my Grandpa felt in not being able to produce a son that he wanted so dearly. I know he loves all his girls but every father wants a son to carry on the namesake of the family.  Was there ever a moment when they doubted they would make it this far? I sometimes wonder the way they argue, but yesterday I did not even question their love  for each other. My grandfather is usually very talkative but when we were sitting in the surgical waiting room for the surgery to be completed he sat silently with his head bowed. I knew he was praying but I have never seen that look of concern on his face before; he has always been the strong one.

I have come to the conclusion that life is not always going to take the path that we want it too. There will be bumps and bruises along the journey…we will have to face difficult things that we don’t necessarily think we can push through.  But as long as we have got someone to help us along it gets easier to muddle through the hard stuff.  That’s why in my opinion people should set a goal to try to have someone to spend their life with. I’m not saying go out and get married to the first person you meet; and I know marriage isn’t for everyone. But it’s nice to think of down the road growing old with someone who loves you for you.

Leave a Reply

